Can Facebook Be Accountable?

A few weeks ago I wrote a guest blog on Harvard Business Review’s Online site. The blog which is linked to below basically explains what happened to me when my Facebook account was hacked.  One day after this article appeared I received the following message from “Barry” at Facebook:

After reviewing this report, we determined that the profile you are reporting violates our Statement of Rights and Responsibilities. As a result, we removed this profile from Facebook.

Needless to say, I was relieved that I had my identity back. I still wonder what would have happened had I not had the good fortune of being able to telegraph my tale of woe to thousands of people who read the blog. While I was pleased to have my problem resolved, I do not think that Facebook understands its responsibility to act quickly when security violations happen.

If you are interested in the impact of security breaches in a social networking world, read on:

Can Facebook Remain Faceless?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment